Senegal’s place in ECOWAS

Senegal’s place in ECOWAS

Focus — Friday, April 01, 2016

Elected president of ECOWAS at the organisation’s 47th Summit, in Accra, on 19 May 2015, President Macky Sall recently left his seat to the President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, designated President of ECOWAS at the organisation’s 49th ordinary session, on 4 June 2016. Below is a brief look at the role played by Senegal in the regional organisation

1- Senegal, one of ECOWAS’ 15 founding countries

Senegal is one of the 15 founding countries in ECOWAS, the West African economic cooperation organisation that came into being in 1975, with the Treaty of Lagos. The other countries are:  Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, and Togo. 

2- Senegal, ECOWAS’ 4th-largest economy

Senegal ranks fourth in three different indices drawn up by ECOWAS.

Senegal is, first of all, the 4th economy in the ECOWAS zone, in absolute terms. It is the 4th economy in percentage of demography contributed. Lastly, it is fourth in the IDH ranking.

3- Macky Sall, the President of economic integration

The President up to March 2016, Macky Sall has made improving economic integration the focus of his term. For this purpose, he is working to build closer relations with other international organisations, including the G7, G20 and the African Union.

4- The Senegalese Army, one of the main providers of ECOMOG

The Senegalese Army is one of the main providers of soldiers and intervenes with ECOMOG, the armed force of ECOWAS. With ECOMOG, over 3,000 Senegalese soldiers are present in Mali.