The President of the Republic

The President of the Republic

The President is elected by direct, universal suffrage, by majority vote in two rounds.

The Presidential term of office lasts five years, and is renewable once. The President of the Republic is the guardian of the Constitution.

He stands as guarantor of the regular functioning of institutions, national independence, and territorial integrity. He is responsible for national defence and of the National Security Council. He is the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces; appoints military posts; and has sole power over the armed forces. He determines the Nation’s policy. He chairs the Council of Ministers. The President of the Republic is the main Protector of Senegal’s Arts and Letters. He is the embodiment of national unity.

The President signs all orders and decrees. Acts of the President of the Republic - except for those performed under Articles 46, 47, 48, 49 paragraph1, 52, 74, 76 paragraph 2, 78, 79, 83, 87, 89, and 90 - are countersigned by the Prime Minister.

The President accredits Ambassadors as well as the Extraordinary Envoys of foreign powers.

The President of the Republic is vested with the power to grant pardons.

The President of the Republic may address messages to the Nation.

The President of the Republic appoints the Prime Minister and relieves him from office.

On a proposal from the Prime Minister, the President appoints the Ministers, determines their duties, and relieves them from office.

The President of the Republic may delegate some of his powers to the Prime Minister or other members of the government by means of a decree, except for powers provided for in Articles 42, 46, 47, 49, 51, 52, 72, 73, 87, 89 and 90. The President may also allow the Prime Minister to make decisions by decrees.

The President of the Republic may, after having sought the opinion of the Speakers of the National Assembly and the Constitutional Council, put any draft constitutional act to referendum. He may, on proposal from the Prime Minister and after consulting with the authorities mentioned above, put any draft act to referendum. The Courts and Tribunals ensure that referendums are properly conducted. The Constitutional Council then announces the results of said votes.

When institutions of the Republic, the nation’s independence, the integrity of the national territory, or the fulfilment of international commitments face serious and immediate threat, and the regular functioning of the public authorities or institutions is hindered, the President of the Republic is vested with exceptional powers. He may, after informing the nation through a message, take any measure needed to restore normal operation of public authorities and institutions, and to safeguard the nation. He may not, under those exceptional powers, make revision to the Constitution. The National Assembly meets without requiring to be convened. Legislatives measures implemented by the President are before the National Assembly within fifteen days of their enactment. The Assembly may amend or reject them by ratification vote. The measures shall lapse if the draft ratification act is not submitted to the National Assembly within the mandated timeframe. The National Assembly may not be dissolved during the exercise of exceptional powers. When exceptional powers are exercised after dissolution of the National Assembly, the date of the elections set by the dissolution decree may not be delayed, except in the event of a finding by the Constitutional Council of a case of force majeure.