What is the PES ?

The Plan for an Emerging Senegal (PES) is the new policy framework of President Macky Sall's government, aiming at getting Senegal onto the road to development in 2035.
Fighting inequalities and social injustices are the President’s main objectives. President Sall believes that politics has meaning only if it effectively tackles social discrepancies. This is the core of the republican ideal.
The President has initiated social reforms as soon as he reached office providing assistance to the poorest households, equal opportunity to disabled people, universal healthcare, free cesarean sections, increasing pension benefits, and raising personal income amongst other benefits.

The challenge is to bring populations out of poverty by offering the means of autonomy to every Senegalese man and woman through effective inclusion into the economic fabric.

The PES is based on three strategic pillars:

  • Structural transformation of the economic framework..
  • Promotion of human capital.
  • Good governance and rule of law.


In the first phase of priority actions (2014-2018) 27 flagship projects and 17 reforms will be implemented. These projects and reforms cover all sectors. They contribute to defining a new economic model as well as to the Senegalese society through their impact in terms of growth rate and equitable redistribution of national wealth.

Combining internal effort for resource mobilization and support from both foreign and domestic private investors, the PES was designed and validated through extensive consultations with all stakeholders. It was approved in February 2014, by an international community of partners during the consultative group’s meeting in Paris.
Macky Sall
President of the Republic
of Senegal
President X

Emerging Senegal

A New Model
for Development
Find out more X

Media center

Photos Videos X

Get plugged in

Qu'est-ce que le PSE ?

Le Plan Sénégal Emergent, PSE, est le nouveau cadre de référence des politiques de la « gouvernance Macky Sall » visant à conduire le Sénégal sur la voie de l’émergence à l’horizon 2035.
La lutte contre les inégalités et les injustices sociales est au cœur du projet politique du Président de la République, convaincu que la politique n'a de sens que si elle prend effectivement en charge la correction des disparités. C'est le fond de l'idéal républicain.
Dans cette perspective, il a lancé des réformes dans le domaine social dès le lendemain de son accession à la magistrature suprême : allocation de bourses de sécurité familiale aux ménages les plus démunis, carte d'égalité des chances en faveur des handicapés, couverture maladie universelle, revalorisation des pensions de retraite, gratuité de la césarienne, amélioration des niveaux de revenu des travailleurs, entre autres.

L'enjeu est de sortir les populations du besoin en offrant à chaque Sénégalaise et Sénégalais les moyens de son autonomie grâce à son inclusion effective dans le tissu économique.

Le PSE repose sur trois pilliers ou axes stratégiques :

  • La transformation structurelle des bases de l'économie
  • La promotion du capital humain
  • La bonne gouvernance et l’Etat de droit


Dans la première phase des actions prioritaires (2014-2018), 27 projets phares et 17 réformes sont mises en œuvre. Ces projets et réformes touchent tous les secteurs. Ils participent à donner un nouveau visage à l'économie et à la société sénégalaises grâce à leur impact en termes de taux de croissance, comme en termes de redistribution équitable de la richesse nationale.

Combinant l'effort interne de mobilisation de ressources, l'appui des partenaires et l'investissement privé national et étranger, le PSE a été conçu et validé grâce à une vaste concertation avec tous les acteurs. Il a été appuyé, en février 2014, par la communauté internationale des partenaires à l’occasion du groupe consultatif de Paris.
Macky Sall
Président de la République
du Sénégal
Le Président X

Le PSE

Un nouveau modèle
de développement
En savoir plus X

Médiathèque

Photos Videos X

Restez connecté(e)
avec la Présidence