The Senegal in International Bodies

The Senegal
in International Bodies

Since January 2016, Senegal has been a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council, holdinga two-year term (2016–2017). It also holds the Presidency of the International Organization of Francophonie until November 2016.

At the sub-regional level, Senegal is a member of the ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) and of the WAEMU (Commission of the West African Economic and Monetary Union).

Integrated in the international community’s main representative bodies, Senegal is part of the African Union (AU), the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CSS), the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) and the Organization of the Islamic Conference, which it presided from 2012 to 2013.


Economic Community of West African States


Senegal is among the 15 member countries of the ECOWAS, an organization promoting integration and economic cooperation in West Africa, andfounded in 1975 through the Lagos Treaty. On May 19, 2015 President Macky Sall took office while the Organization faced several great challenges including Boko Haram’s progress in Nigeria and neighbouring countries and the terrorist attacks in Bamako and Ouagadougou. He acted as President of the ECOWAS organization from May 2015 to May 2016.

Highly engaged on economic issues, President Macky Sall dedicated his mandate to integration. His priorities to strengthen regional integration included free movement of people and goods. On June 4, 2016, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of Liberia and Nobel Peace Prize laureate in 2011, succeeded President Macky Sall to the ECOWAS Presidency.

Senegal is the 4th economy of the ECOWAS area in absolute value terms, the 4th-largest in terms of population contributed, as well as the 4th-ranked in the HDI (Human Development Index) ranking.


Commission of the West African Economic and Monetary Union


The purpose of the WAEMU, an economic and monetary union, is to make Member States’ economic activities more competitive within the context of an open and competitive market, as well as a rationalized and harmonized legal environment.

The various workstreams of the WAEMU are conducted within the commission's various departments, all chaired by the Senegalese Cheikh Hadjibou Soumaré who was elected and served as Chair from 2011 to December 2016.

Founded on January 10, 1994 it consists of the eight countries of the franc area: Senegal, Ivory Coast, Benin, Togo, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso.


New Partnership for Africa’s Development


An agency of the African Union for the socio-economic development of the continent, NEPAD is both a vision and a strategic framework for Africa in the 21st century. NEPAD is a new intervention led by Africa’s leaders in the aim of tackling the critical challenges faced throughout the continent: poverty, development and marginalization at the international level.

President Macky Sall chairs the Orientation Committee of Heads of States and Government of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD). He was elected at the 20th summit of the African Union in Addis-Abeba, during the 28th session of the Orientation Committee of Heads of States and Government of the NEPAD.

The NEPAD deals with a number of programmes and projects in six thematic areas, namely:

  • Agriculture and Food Safety;

  • Climate change and Natural Resources Management;

  • Regional Integration and Infrastructures;

  • Human Development;

  • Economic and Business Development;

  • Cross-Cutting Issues, including Gender, Capacity Building and ICTs.

UN Security Council


On 15 October 2015, Senegal was elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the 2016-2017 period, with 187 votes. It will be part of the UN Council for the third time (68/69, 88/89). Senegal officially opened its mandate in January 2016 and will sit until 31 December 2017.

Senegal chairs two subsidiary bodies: the Working Group on Peacekeeping Missions and the Sanctions Committee for the Republic of South Sudan. Senegal is also Vice-President for “conflict prevention in West Africa” and “child protection in warring periods and zones”,in addition to serving as porte-plume [Secretary Nation] for the Sahel and Guinea Bissau situation.

This election is fitting with Senegal’s international commitments to peace and security in Africa and the world. Senegal is the 7th largest contributor of military, police and civil troops in the world, 3rd at the African level and 1st at the West African level.

International Organization of Francophonie


Since 2014 and until November 2016, Senegal has been holding the presidency of the International Organization of Francophonie (French-Speaking World).Under the Presidency of Macky Sall, the first Francophonie Economic Forum was held at the Dakar Summit, in November 2014.

The Francophonie Economic Forum:
Its purpose is to promote trade and investment within the French-speaking world by building on relationships related to common language and legal traditions, and to accelerate the creation of an economic Francophonie, the potential of which is still far from being exploited today.

Political and economic policy-makers from the five continents and 80 Francophonie Member States and governments meet on a regular basis to address concrete themes: entrepreneurship, issues and opportunities in megacities and high-potential economic sectors, public-private partnerships, specific issues related to young people and women, education, new technologies, environment, the role of the media, culture and science.