The President

The President is elected by universal and direct suffrage, after winning a majority vote in two rounds of elections.

The Presidential term of office has a duration of five years, and is renewable once.
The President of the Republic is the guardian of the Constitution. He ensures regular functioning of institutions, national independence, as well as territorial integrity. He is responsible for national defense and of heading the National Security Council. He is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces; appoints military posts; and has the sole power over the armed forces. He sets out national policy. He chairs the Council of Ministers. The President of the Republic is the main guardian of Senegal’s Arts and Letters. He is the embodiment of national unity.

The President signs all orders and decrees. Acts of the President of the Republic - except for those performed under Articles 46, 47, 48, 49 section 1, 52, 74, 76 section 2, 78, 79, 83, 87, 89, and 90 - are countersigned by the Prime Minister.

The President appoints Ambassadors as well as Envoys Extraordinary of foreign countries.

The President of the Republic is vested with the power to grant pardons.

The President of the Republic may deliver messages to/from the Nation.

The President of the Republic appoints the Prime Minister and relieves him from office.

On a proposal from the Prime Minister, the President appoints the other Ministers, sets their duties, and relieves them from office.

The President of the Republic may delegate some of his powers to the Prime Minister or other members of the government by means of a decree, except for powers set in Articles 42, 46, 47, 49, 51, 52, 72, 73, 87, 89 and 90. The President may also allow the Prime Minister to take decisions through decrees.

The President of the Republic may, after consultation with the Speakers of the National Assembly and the Constitutional Council, put any draft constitutional act to a referendum. He may, on a proposal from the Prime Minister and after consulting with the authorities mentioned above, put any draft act to referendum. The Courts and Tribunals ensure that referendums are properly conducted. The Constitutional Council then announces the results of said votes.

When institutions of the Republic, national independence, integrity of the national territory, or fulfilling of international commitments are seriously and immediately threatened, and the regular functioning of public authorities or institutions is interrupted, the President of the Republic is vested with exceptional powers. He may, after informing the nation through a message, take any measure needed to restore normal operation of public authorities and institutions, and to safeguard the nation. He may not, under those exceptional powers, carry out a constitutional review. The National Assembly shall meet as a right. Legislatives measures implemented by the President shall be put before the National Assembly within fifteen days of their enactment. The Assembly may amend or reject them when the ratification act is conducted. Those measures shall lapse if the draft ratification act is not submitted to the National Assembly within the mandated time frame. The National Assembly may not be dissolved during the exercise of exceptional powers. When exceptional powers are exercised after dissolution of the National Assembly, the date of the elections set by the dissolution decree may not be delayed, except in the event of a finding by the Constitutional Council of a case of force majeure.
Macky Sall
President of the Republic
of Senegal
President X

Emerging Senegal

A New Model
for Development
Find out more

Media center

Photos Videos X

Get plugged in