The Independence Day: April 4th, 1960

Senegal became a Republic on November 15, 1958 and gained independence on August 20, 1960 under the leadership of President Léopold Sedar Senghor, in office from 1960 to 1980. President Senghor was the first African leader to open up the political sphere by introducing pluralism through openness to the multi-party system in a structured and controlled environment. President Abdou Diouf took over the reins of Senegal from 1981 to 2000 and further advanced the multi-party system.

A Few Key Events

In 1981

The Senegambia Confederation was created, lasting until 1989.

In 2000

President Abdou Diouf handed over the Presidency to Abdoulaye Wade, elected in March 2000 with the support of a wide coalition, following a process engaging the country on the path for democratic change.

In 2012

A new change takes place with the election of President Macky SALL on March 25th.
Macky Sall
President of the Republic
of Senegal
President X

Emerging Senegal

A New Model
for Development
Find out more

Media center

Photos Videos X

Get plugged in